1 albums
10 lyrics
0% popularity

The Rasmus Biography

The Rasmus is currently enclosing the members Lauri Ylonen, Eero Heinonen, Paul Rantasalmi, and Aki Hakala. The first drummer was Jarno Lahti, followed by Janne Heiskanen. Janne quit in 1998 and was replaced by Hakala who was there to say.

Early Years

The band was founded by Ylonen, Heinonen, Rantasalmi, and Lahti while still in high school. After a decent start with the 1st EP, the band signed with Warner Music Finland. Through them, The Rasmus released the album Peep in 1996. It was a tremendous success for the newcomers they were, and it was followed by Playboys in 1997.

Further Career

After replacing the drummer two times, they signed with Playground Music and issued the album Into in 2001. The Rasmus achieved international notoriety with the single “In the Shadows”, that led the album Dead Letters (2003). Other singles were “In My life” and “First Day of My Life”. They issued two more albums until 2012, they the self-titled album appeared. The Rasmus peaked at number 3 on the Finnish Albums chart. Their next album Dark Matters is set to be released in 2017.


Photo credit: All Music