2 albums
9 lyrics
0% popularity

Slowdive Biography

Slowdive is currently enclosing the members Nick Chaplin, Rachel Goswell, Neil Halstead, Christian Savill, and Simon Scott. Halstead and Rachel, childhood friends, founded the band after their former indie band (Pumpkin Fairies) disbanded.

With Fairies drummer Adrian Sell, bassist Nick Chaplin and guitarist Christian Savill they started recording a demo. After a successful gig, they signed to Creation Records.

First Records

Their self-titled debut EP was critically acclaimed and was followed by the Holding Our Breath EP (1991). Holding the shoegaze band flag up high, Slowdive issued their first album Just for a Day in the fall of 1991. The album was trashed by critics and they were pressed by the record label to record something that will sell.

No Quitters Allowed

Slowdive’s second album Souvlaki (1993) didn’t meet the band’s needs at the time. Covered in negativity, it was promoted with a small tour in the US. Only at first the half of the tour, Slowdive discovered they had to pay for the other half because their UK label record SBK stopped paying them.

After they released Pygmalion (1995), the label record dropped the band. Members started side projects that included other bands and solo records.

In 2014, the band announced their return through a Twitter post. They held numerous performances, including concerts at Primavera Sound Festival and Electric Picnic Festival. Slowdive is going to release their self-entitled album under the Dead Oceans records on 5 May 2017.

Photo Source: Discogs