1 albums
12 lyrics
0% popularity

Flogging Molly Biography

Flogging Molly is an Irish-American Celtic punk band formed in 1997. Additionally, they have their own record label, Borstal Beat Records. The group has released five studio albums and is best known for singles such as Drunken Lullabies and Devil’s Dance Floor. Most recent, Flogging Molly came out with the single Reptiles, preceding their sixth studio album, Life Is Good, due for June 2017.

Early Years

Before forming Flogging Molly, Dave King was the lead singer of a heavy metal band called Fastway, in the early to mid-80s. Shortly after, he gained a record deal with Epic Records to work on a solo album and thought of adding Irish instruments into the mix. However, the label forbade him from adding Irish instruments to his sound, therefore he left. In 1993, he began forming Flogging Molly’s line-up and sound. They used to play gigs in an LA bar called Molly Malone’s Weekly and eventually build a fanbase. In 1997 the group released a live album, Alive Behind the Green Door, containing songs like Selfish Man, Laura and Black Friday Rule.

Musical Developments

Flogging Molly takes inspiration from other Irish or Celtic rock and punk bands, but also from the likes of Johnny Cash and The Clash. Their songs approach diverse subjects such as war, vices, poverty, love, death. Soundwise, Flogging Moly balances between pirate-like music and serious tunes. The band’s debut studio album came out in 2000, titled Swagger. Shortly after, they released the gold-certified Drunken Lullabies (2002). Moreover, their next three albums Within a Mile of Home, Float and Speed of Darkness all reached top 20 on the Billboard 200. Most noteworthy, the dark and politics-influenced Float peaked at number 4. In 2016, after a long break, Flogging Molly came out with the single The Hand of John L. Sullivan, an ode to the boxer of the same name.

Photo source: StarTribune