2 albums
12 lyrics
0% popularity

Avenged Sevenfold Biography

Avenged Sevenfold is an American heavy metal band from California. Currently, its members are M. Shadows, Zacky Vengeance, Synyster Gates, Johnny Christ and Brooks Wackerman. The group formed in 1999 and rose to fame through their diverse, rich and dramatic style. They released 7 albums, 4 of which are platinum certified, while 2 have topped the Billboard 200. Loudwire included Avenged Sevenfold in their list of Top 50 Metal Bands of All Time.

Early Years – Eponymous Albums

In 2001, Avenged Sevenfold, in a different formula, released Sounding the Seventh Trumpet, their debut studio album, which didn’t gain recognition. A couple of years later, after some line-up changes, they came out with Waking the Fallen, marking their first top 10 album. Furthermore, in 2005, they released City of Evil. Notably, the record spawned one of the band’s most popular singles, Bat Country, peaking at number 2 on the Mainstream Rock chart. In 2007, the band released a Platinum-certified self-titled album, which reached number 4 in the US. Additionally, the album generated the heartwarming single Almost Easy and included the complex composition A Little Piece of Heaven, known for its music video.

“Nightmare” – Present

Shortly after the release of the album, Avenged Sevenfold’s founding member The Rev died due to an accidental overdose. In 2010, the group released their next album, Nightmare, for the first time topping the US Albums chart. It spawned three highly acclaimed singles, the title track, Welcome to the Family and So Far Away. Moreover, in 2013, Hail to the King came out to immense acclaim. It topped the album charts from several countries and spawned the iconic hit of the same name. Avenged Sevenfold’s latest album, The Stage (2016), reached number 4 in the US and spawned 2 singles, most recently God Damn, in April 2017.


Photo credit: TeamRock